To fair or not to fair?

I got a message from a lady today inviting me to her craft fair.  I did my first one this last May…it was fun, but a lot of work!!!  And we didn’t sell near as much as we anticipated.  It was kind of discouraging.  Now that I’ve been invited, not that you need to in order to show, I’m rekindled, I think.  It is fresh and exciting again.  I’m trying to figure out a display system that will work for (and hopefully rock) our product.  Each time I look at building something or purchasing something  I think “How much money should I really spend on this?”  Especially since I didn’t make much at the last showing.  But then I hear the still small voice in my head saying “You need to spend big bucks to earn big bucks” Read about it here.  I came across her posting off of Wonder Thinking, which has become my new business resource 🙂

What do you think?  Have you set up at a craft show before?  Know where I can get wall displays, gridwalls/slatwalls, small tables, etc for free/very cheap???  This space would be 8×8…very tiny!  I would love to see pics, hear tips, etc.  I sell ceramic tile coasters and wall décor, baby gifts that come in baskets and boxes at least 8in x 6in that don’t stack too easily, greeting cards, scarves and hats.

Tonight I did a second test run of the resin I bought for the coasters.  Very excited about it…the first batch looked pretty good, if I don’t say so myself!  Hoping this will have to be the last one before I start tackling the real stuff.  And you all know what that means-more stuff to buy on Etsy!!!!  Wooohoo!

Leave a comment